Richard L. Fleming, MBA

State Tax Group, LLC
Founder / Chief Executive Officer

Richard Fleming is the CEO & founder of State Tax Group, LLC a state and local tax advisory firm located in  Farmers Branch (Dallas), Texas since 2005. Mr. Fleming has 24 plus years’ experience in the state and local tax arena. Richard is an appointed member of the Texas State Comptroller’s Glen Hagar’s “Taxpayer Advisory Group” which meets to discuss proposed rules and tax laws before they are published in the Texas Register.

Locally Richard serves as an advisory board member on Southern Methodist University’s Big Data Certificate Program, and as a school board trustee for the Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD which serves the cities of Dallas, Farmers Branch, Carrollton, Coppell, Addison and Irving.  Richard currently serves on several Non-Profits boards benefiting women and kids whom are challenged by life in the Dallas Fort Worth area. Mr. Fleming has been recognized for his leadership, character, and stewardship in the community; as such has received several community service awards for his stewardship.

In 2012 through the leadership of Richard Fleming State Tax Group, LLC was awarded the Exxon-Mobil MBE of the year; and in 2013 State Tax Group, LLC was awarded by Phillips 66 MBE of the year.

Mr. Fleming was featured in the Texas Business Report by the Texas Association of Business in the April 2013 issue. The Business Report is a monthly publication by the Texas Association of Business and Chambers of Commerce, an organization that advocates and fosters a business-friendly climate in Texas and throughout the country.


Dartmouth College Tuck School of Business Hanover New Hampshire Executive Leadership
Training 2013.

Dartmouth College Tuck School of Business
Business” Hanover New Hampshire- Executive Leadership Training November 2012.

Inner City 100 Business Symposium Harvard University
Boston Massachusetts- Executive Leadership Training May 2012

Edwin L. Cox School of Business, Southern Methodist
University Dallas, TX- Caruth Institute of Owner-Managed Business
Executive Leadership Training April 2000

Cameron University School of Business, Lawton, OK
Masters of Business Administration

Cameron University School of Business Lawton, OK
Bachelor of Business Administration (Finance / Minored in Accounting & Economics)

Boards and Affiliations

  • Southern Methodist University (SMU)/ Digital Accelerator -Big Data Certificate Program- Advisory Board Member
  • National Small Business Association (NSBA) -Leadership Council 2017
  • Richardson Chamber of Commerce
  • Metrocrest Services 2015 to Present- Finance Chair
  • Institute of Professionals in Taxation 2016
  • Council on State Taxation (Cost) 2011
  • Texas Association of Business and Chambers of Commerce-Member (2010-Present) Board of Directors
  • Hotel Association of Tarrant County
  • Farmers Branch Chamber of Commerce-Education Committee
  • Metrocrest Chamber of Commerce (2012 to current)
  • Taxpayer Advisory Group (TAG), an advisory committee appointed by former Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Susan Combs. (2011-2014)
  • Taxpayer Advisory Group, appointed by the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Glen Hegar 2015 to current
  • Carrollton-Farmers Branch Independent School District
  • School Board Trustee/Secretary (2009-Present)
  • Rotary 5810- President 2013-2014 “Service Above Self”

Past Boards and Affiliations

  • Dress for Success Dallas- Board of Directors
  • Farmers Branch Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors 2014
  • Greater Dallas Chamber of Commerce -Member 2008-2009
  • City of Carrollton Wildcat Youth Sports Organization (2003-2008)
  • Association of Energy Services Companies (2007)
  • City of Farmers Branch Youth Sports Council, Farmers Branch Youth Football and Cheerleading Association (2000-2002)
  • United Way of Metropolitan Dallas- Loaned Executive Program (1997-1998)
  • Dallas Fort Worth Supplier Development Council
  • Houston Supplier Development Council

Honors and Awards

  • Farmers Branch Rotary 2015 Community Service Award
  • Bea’s Kids 2015 Community Service Star Award
  • Top Business for 2015
  • 2013 MBE Executive of Year recipient by Phillips 66/HSDC
  • 2012 MBE Executive Scholarship recipient by Exxon- Mobil / HSDC
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, Inaugural induction to Hall of Fame
  • RL Turner High School Carrollton Texas (2012)
  • NAIA Division I National Football Champions, Cameron University
  • NAIA Division I National Football College Runner Up, Cameron University